Minimalist or not….?

I am not a minimalist yet. Does that mean I never will be? No…because I am trying to reach a point in my life where material things will not hinder me from doing things I want to do. Yes I like to have nice things and I will buy things if I can do so with out putting myself into debt. Which I am fortunate enough to be able to do because I watch what I spend and how I spend. I choose to buy things in a way most people do not. I might use a credit card but I make sure I am able to pay it off at the end of the month before I make any purchase. I make sure what I buy is something I will use and get use out of. I do not buy things just for the sake of buying anymore.

Now that I have said this, let me explain why this has come up. It seems when we decide (me and my husband) to put our feet a little higher up to do something, we always have people trying to put things in our way. Now I know some of these people have good intentions and they don’t look at things quite the same way we do. They look at it as if we are depriving ourselves of enjoyment, instant gratification, or whatever. Those are not so bad because they do have good intentions. Then you have those who will make fun of us and call us cheap, stingy, or even worse tell us we are depriving our kids of some kind of enjoyment that material things bring. They will make you miserable whenever you see them because they think you are being ridiculous in your goals. They think that instant gratification is more important then being debt and worry free. Either of these two groups can be so disheartening sometimes. Especially when it is close family members and you want to be around them. Some of it I think is jealousy, some of they think they know what is better for us then we do, and some think that we should just be lazy and go with the flow. Whereas I appreciate their input, our lives are our lives. We make the choice we make for ourselves. In the end I want my kids to remember me for me not for what I bought for them. I want to remember what me and my husband did together not for what he bought on his credit card. Why is that so hard for people to understand? Why do people put such high value on things that don’t last and so little on things that do?

All I know, is that in 5 1/2 years my house will be paid off and I will be 45 yrs old. I know my husband will 54 years old. I know my kids when they are my age cannot say that their dad and mom were not around when they needed us. I know I will be able to say my family is stronger and does not need material things to hold us together. We can say we actually enjoy being together. In the end that is all that matters.

Posted on July 7, 2017, in My Opinion (and that's all it is) and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. The world would benefit from more people thinking and behaving as you are. It’s the way earlier generations approached things, and they were far wiser and more grounded than are most young folks today who expect (and in many cases have) to have everything handed to them, only to discard stuff out of boredom. I could go on and on.

Leave a Reply

