Yoga Pose Tuesday (information)


Welcome to another installment of Yoga Pose Tuesday. Yes I know it’s been a awhile but I am going to try to get back into the postings. This week is another post with info regarding yoga. I know I promised a pose the next time I was going to post but to be honest life tends to get in the way….lol!! This week I will give a little insight to the different schools of yoga. As I am posting this here, I know there are going to be people who might say there are more, but from what I understand these are the major schools then within these there are different ways. Each will lead you to the same point…it’s all about how you get there.

The four paths of Yoga: There are four traditional schools of Yoga, and these are: Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Karma Yoga, and Raja Yoga. While a Yogi or Yogini may focus exclusively on one of these approaches to Yoga, that is quite uncommon. For the vast majority of practitioners of Yoga, a blending of the four traditional types of Yoga is most appropriate. One follows his or her own predisposition in balancing these different forms of Yoga.

Jnana Yoga:

Jnana Yoga is the path of knowledge, wisdom, introspection and contemplation. It involves deep exploration of the nature our being by systematically exploring and setting aside false identities.

Bhakti Yoga:

Bhakti Yoga is the path of devotion, emotion, love, compassion, and service to God and others. All actions are done in the context of remembering the Divine

Karma Yoga:

Karma Yoga is the path of action, service to others, mindfulness, and remembering the levels of our being while fulfilling our actions or karma in the world

Raja Yoga:

Raja Yoga is a comprehensive method that emphasizes meditation, while encompassing the whole of Yoga. It directly deals with the encountering and transcending thoughts of the mind.


Now with all this being said, you will find out as you do yoga which you are more likely to lean toward. You will probably choose one over the other primarily but don’t forget the others as well because they are meant to be part of one another.


Jnana Yoga:
While Jnana Yoga deals with knowledge, wisdom, introspection and contemplation, everybody has a mind and at some point will need to examine it, wherein quiet reflection naturally comes.

Bhakti Yoga:
All people will experience emotions such as love, compassion, and devotion at points along the journey, regardless of which of the four paths of Yoga is predominant

Karma Yoga:
Nobody can live in a body and the world without doing actions. Even a renunciate living in a Himalayan cave has to do some form of actions, and thus, some degree of Karma Yoga is essential

Raja Yoga:
Everybody will become still and quite from sadhana or spiritual practices, will naturally encounter and deal with attractions and aversion, and will meditate, thus touching on Raja Yoga.


However you decide to get your center, enjoy the journey. that is what counts. Namaste



Thank you for all the info


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s