My history with Yoga – part 2

Standard

As I was saying in my previous post, has always been part of my life. At the point I stopped doing yoga again, my priorities were skewed. I had been married almost 3 years at that point, I was about to go back to college after dropping out, I was trying to get pregnant, I discovered I had a thyroid issue (which I still take medicine for today), and as much as I love my husband…our relationship was not that great at that point. I was so out of balance with everything and it made my life a lot harder. I did try to go back to yoga during this time but it was fruitless. I could not get my mind in the place I needed to be. I could not focus on what I needed. I didn’t really know at that point in my life what I needed. It was not until after my son was born that I attempted yoga again, but I could not stay focused on it until about 3 years and my daughter’s birth was able to do it again.

At that point I was 27 and was feeling older than I was. It felt like my joints were rusted hinges. I was still somewhat flexible but I soon found out how much flexibility I had lost. I could not find any good books on yoga and I had given my book to my niece because she wanted to try it. So here I am, at home with 2 little ones (almost 2 yrs apart) and I start flipping through the channels. I never go to PBS but for some reason I did. I found a show on PBS that was yoga. I was like yes!! I found something I could start again. Well as happy as I was it didn’t last long. I did not stick with it. Not because I couldn’t (actually I think in some areas it still airs) but because again I could not focus to do anything for myself.

Leave a Reply

