Fit Challenge Week 18 and Old Habits

Standard

You know the old saying….”old habits follow you” or maybe “old habits are hard to break” or maybe “old habits die hard”? It is true. I am on a journey where I am finding out just how many habits I have developed and not all are good ones. Actually, most of them are not good ones. When you get into a habit of doing something, it is really hard to change. That can be anything from various addictions all the way to working yourself into the ground. For me it is/was two things…looking for that quick meal/snack and working too much. Some of you will say the first is worst then the latter but I will tell you they are both just as damaging as the other.

When you get into the habit of grabbing the first thing in your fridge, whether it be a good food or bad food, you get into a habit of eating more then you should. And no matter if it is good for you or not you are still eating too much. Does this mean you cannot have a quick snack in between meals? No what it means is that you have to be careful not to overeat. It is just as easy to overeat healthy foods as it is to eat junk foods. I’m guilty of that. I love fresh fruit and fresh vegetables. I can sit down an eat until nothing is left. Does that mean I do? No it means I learn to portion out everything…now that is. I am learning to control that habit because it did get to the point even though they are good for me I could not stop eating them.

My second bad habit  is overworking myself. I have a tendency to do until I am utterly exhausted. I don’t mean just at my job but also in my home life. It will get to the point that I have to stop because if I don’t then for a couple days I am not able to do anything. Does this mean I don’t have a clean home? No. Does this mean I can’t keep a job? No. Does this mean I can’t help my kids and husband? No. What it means is that I have to find a healthy balance between them. And to be honest I think learning to maintain my eating is easier then finding the balance in my work life….lol.

Life is about balance and breaking bad habits…I’m still working on that 🙂

 

Height: 5′ 7″

Weight: 173.6

Bust: 38 in

Waist: 32 in

Hips: 38 in

 

 

Leave a Reply

