Something about being married….

Standard

When you are married you realize how much you depend on the one you’re with. Even if you are independent and do everything on your own, when you get married there is part of you that no matter what gives itself over to the one you’re with. You don’t necessarily give up your independence but you learn to give more than you take. You learn to adjust and enjoy when someone does something for you just because. You learn to accept when someone takes care of you even if you can do it yourself. I can honestly say that is what I have got in my relationship with my husband and I am thankful for that.

I know marriage is not for everyone. I know there are a lot that think marriage can be a trap or take away the independence you have worked so hard for and I’ll be honest I thought that too, but when you meet the one you are supposed to be with, it just clicks. It just makes you feel like that is the only thing you need in your life…be damned anything else. Does that mean it’s not difficult at times? No it can be unbelievably difficult. It can make even the strongest man cry at times. But in the end, it is so worth it.

I am not the easiest person to live with at times. I know that. I don’t have to be told by anyone that I can be difficult. But I can honestly say since I have been married (will be 17 yrs in October), I have learned so much on how to deal with life, people, work, and a lot more. There is something about marriage that makes you realize what the world is about. I am glad I did get married, and I am especially glad to be married to my amazing husband.

2 thoughts on “Something about being married….

  1. This is so very true. 17 years – that’s awesome! Man, marriage is something else; having to learn to accommodate your partner (both ways) and a balance of give and take is the hardest thing I have ever done so far. It’s worth doing because you learn so much about life and YOURSELF along the way.

Leave a Reply

